//
you're reading...
Holiness

The Writing on the Mirror

A few years ago a newspaper in England surveyed 2000 men and women to see how often they looked in the mirror daily.  On average, for men, it was 27 times a day.  For women, 34 times a day.  Even if you don’t care about stats, at least we can say that we check ourselves out quite a bit – bathroom mirrors, hall mirrors, tiny mirrors carried around in purses, car mirrors, or even very reflective windows.

In part we all want to avoid the embarrassment that can come from having something on your face that everyone else can see but you.  We want to see how others see us.  We want to at least appear that we are put together.

But what if we put the words of Scottish pastor Robert Murray McCheyne into practice: For every look at self – take ten looks at Christ!  What if, bare minimum, we turned our thoughts to Christ the same number of times we looked in the mirror to see ourselves.  What if we were more concerned with studying Him than us?

Here’s a simple suggestion: on your way home today from school, work, or wherever, stop by a store and buy a dry erase marker (Disclaimer: if you use something that doesn’t erase, like a sharpie, I can’t be held responsible).  Black works but if you can get a different colour go with that.  Leave the marker in your bathroom or near some other mirror in your house that you look at often.  Use it to write Scripture on said mirror.

Here are some verses you could start with:

Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me shall not hunger, and whoever believes in me shall never thirst. – John 6:35

I am the light of the world.  Whoever follows me will no walk in darkness, but will have the light of life. – John 8:12

I am the door.  If anyone enters by me, he will be saved and will go in and out and find pasture. – John 10:9

I am the good shepherd.  The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep. – John 10:11

I am the resurrection and the life.  Whoever believes in me, though he die, yet shall he live, and everyone who lives and believes in me shall never die. – John 11:25-26

I am the way, the truth, and the life.  No one comes to the Father except through me. – John 14:6

I am the vine; you are the branches.  Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing. – John 15:5

For best results, write something across the middle so you can’thelp but see them when you look in the mirror.  “For every look at self – take then looks at Christ.”

About hespelerbaptist

Equipping the saints for the work of the ministry.

Discussion

Comments are closed.

